Sunday, October 26, 2008

I'm a Bad Blogger.

I haven't posted in about forever so I'm gonna attempt to do a good ol' recap... quickly. Apparently the last time I posted was October 5... hmm yea. I'm terribly sorry about that. Sometimes things'll happen and I'll think, "Wow. That was awesome. I really need to write a blog about that." and then I don't. Until now! *sigh* 

So starting on October 6... haha jk. The weekend after I last wrote (October 11- Rachel's Bday) another music student (another Julia from Germany) and I were talking about things we wanted to do and see while we were here, and she mentioned going up to the top of St. Mary's Tower in City Centre. When I said I hadn't been up there yet either we decided we'd go that Saturday, and we did! Jo and Lisa came with me and the 4 of us climbed the many stairs (123 actually) to the top and had an AWESOME view. Since it was so nice there were a ton of people out in the Market Square next to St. Mary's, so it was really cool watching the masses from up there. Not to mention King's College on the other side. There are always a few street performers out on the weekend and we could here them all from up there which was really cool. Kind of a soundtrack for the view. It was a perfect day for it and I'm so glad we went.


The following day I met up with Matt Jennings (from Flemington Baptist BYF!!) in London!!! We had a really great day. Had an authentic British lunch of bangers and mash and fish and chips and then basically wandered around London looking for a bathroom haha. We had two servings of ice cream in Leceister Square, hung out with the ice cream seller guy, and caught up about how our lives are going in general. It was  a lot of fun, and very comforting to know that both of us are going through basically the same thing. Plus I was very proud of myself for getting to and back from London by myself (using the train, the tube, and walking) without screwing up or getting lost. Woot!

That Tuesday myself and 7 others from our group of friends went to see Shakespeare's R&J at the Mumford Theatre here on campus. Don't really know what else to say about that except that it was an interesting interpretation (the story was told through 4 private school guys in their school chapel) and that the fact that it was 4 guys made for some funny reactions from the school groups in the audience. Not something I'd run out and see again, but still a cool way to get out and do something.

And Friday we went to Ireland! And I think that deserves a post of its own, so I'll wrap this one up here. 

...

That's a wrap.

(also, for some reason it's not letting me upload pictures, but i'll work on it)

Sunday, October 5, 2008

A Day for Wellies

I said I'd write more often and I'm afraid I may have inadvertantly lied. Sorry, folks.

This week's been pretty busy. Classes, "self-study," hangin' out, yadda yadda. We're going into week 3 of classes this week which is kinda nuts considering there are 12 weeks of classes. So after week 3 we'll be a quarter of the way through already. Whoa. I'm starting to get worried I won't be able to travel all the places I want to, like countries and stuff, but I very much doubt this'll be my last time in Europe (I think I've been bitten by the travel bug...which is a really old fashioned kind of phrase but whatever). I'd still really like to go to Austria and I've heard going to Paris from here isn't difficult either, I just need weekends to do it and people to go with.

Today though, we did a little exploring of our own city, kinda. it was really rainy and yucky and I went to that church again (had another cup of coffee which I liked again, it wasn't a fluke haha), then me, Frank, Lisa, and Jo went to the Fitzwilliam Museum. It's basically like the British museum but not QUITE as big (still really huge though). Since it's such a crummy day I took the opportunity to wear my wellies! (rainboots). I haven't actually heard anyone call them wellies yet... like British people anyway, so until I do I'm just gonna continue to call them boots, that way I can determine whether it's a ridiculous & silly word no one uses anymore. But ANWAY, they are quite comfy and I'm wearing them as I sit in the library writing this.

The reason I'm in the library writing this and not in the house in my room is because for some ridiculous and inconvenient reason the internet thingies that 4 of us bought aren't working. They won't connect to the network. We called the number and it was like (a recording of a Scottish woman saying this) "It is possible that you are experiencing connection difficulties. Our experienced engineers are currently working to correct the problem." So basically, "Hang up now because we already know that everything's screwed up cuz people like you have called a bazillion times. We don't know what the heck is wrong but we have a coupla guys in the backroom thinking about it." So hopefully it starts working soon and it'd be freakin sweet if we got a refund. So yea the skyping has been limited which is a pretty serious bummer, but hopefully i'll be back on soon.

That's basically all for now I think. I can't think of any exciting things that are going on... umm... yea no. If anything does though, I'll be sure to alert you immediately... or at least within a week haha.

Cheers! (people actually say that here.)