Sunday, October 26, 2008
I'm a Bad Blogger.
Sunday, October 5, 2008
A Day for Wellies
This week's been pretty busy. Classes, "self-study," hangin' out, yadda yadda. We're going into week 3 of classes this week which is kinda nuts considering there are 12 weeks of classes. So after week 3 we'll be a quarter of the way through already. Whoa. I'm starting to get worried I won't be able to travel all the places I want to, like countries and stuff, but I very much doubt this'll be my last time in Europe (I think I've been bitten by the travel bug...which is a really old fashioned kind of phrase but whatever). I'd still really like to go to Austria and I've heard going to Paris from here isn't difficult either, I just need weekends to do it and people to go with.
Today though, we did a little exploring of our own city, kinda. it was really rainy and yucky and I went to that church again (had another cup of coffee which I liked again, it wasn't a fluke haha), then me, Frank, Lisa, and Jo went to the Fitzwilliam Museum. It's basically like the British museum but not QUITE as big (still really huge though). Since it's such a crummy day I took the opportunity to wear my wellies! (rainboots). I haven't actually heard anyone call them wellies yet... like British people anyway, so until I do I'm just gonna continue to call them boots, that way I can determine whether it's a ridiculous & silly word no one uses anymore. But ANWAY, they are quite comfy and I'm wearing them as I sit in the library writing this.
The reason I'm in the library writing this and not in the house in my room is because for some ridiculous and inconvenient reason the internet thingies that 4 of us bought aren't working. They won't connect to the network. We called the number and it was like (a recording of a Scottish woman saying this) "It is possible that you are experiencing connection difficulties. Our experienced engineers are currently working to correct the problem." So basically, "Hang up now because we already know that everything's screwed up cuz people like you have called a bazillion times. We don't know what the heck is wrong but we have a coupla guys in the backroom thinking about it." So hopefully it starts working soon and it'd be freakin sweet if we got a refund. So yea the skyping has been limited which is a pretty serious bummer, but hopefully i'll be back on soon.
That's basically all for now I think. I can't think of any exciting things that are going on... umm... yea no. If anything does though, I'll be sure to alert you immediately... or at least within a week haha.
Cheers! (people actually say that here.)
Sunday, September 28, 2008
I'm in a Glass Case of Emotion

Wednesday, September 24, 2008
The Emotional Complexities of Laundry
Monday, September 15, 2008
Meeting People!!
Saturday, September 13, 2008
I'm Here!!
Sunrise over Ireland (I think)
Once I got into Heathrow I made it through immigration without a hitch and got all my luggage within 5 minutes (I thought that was pretty incredible) and I met Lisa right away just as I was leaving Customs. Finding the bus station at Heathrow was a bit of a challenge, but Lisa had seen a map or something and knew that we had to take the airport train (that airport is HUGE) to get to the bus station, and we made it there with about 40 min to spare. Not a problem.
We got into Cambridge and off the bus to find a huge and beautiful green, and after some shuffling, much rearranging of luggage, and a stop for directions we found the university accommodations office. There we got our keys and they asked us whether we'd take a taxi or walk to the house. Looking at a map it didn't seem too bad, so we said we'd walk and they gave us directions. Note: If there's any question, TAKE A TAXI. It was WAY farther than we thought and with almost every bump in the sidewalk our wheely luggage toppled over. Kind of frustrating and most likely a very entertaining sight haha. But we did make it eventually, making a normally 20 minute walk into a 40 minute one. *sigh* oh well haha.
Then we got to the house, and it basically looked like the picture but once we got inside… whoa. Very VERY small. Like imagine a small row house, then imagine it smaller. We ditched our stuff in the opening hallway and scoped it out. Straight down the hall is a room on the right which would ordinarily be a living room but instead is a large bedroom, and straight is a very narrow stairway upstairs. A slight right from the opening hall leads to another bedroom on the right and the kitchen straight ahead, and a bathroom and half-bath through there. All very small haha. Upstairs, there's a slight turn in the stairs and if you go straight you find my room, left is Lisa's, and right are 2 more. The "rear garden" shown on the site plan we were given is more of a used-to-be-a-garden-a-long-time-ago-but-the-gardner-moved-away-10-years-ago garden. Which is ok cuz I dunno if we would use it anyway, but I was picturing like an English tea garden or the peace garden at LVC. We were pretty bummed out at the state of it, not being quite what we pictured. I don't want to complain, but being honest (since this is a blog) it was kind of disappointing.
While we were scoping things out we heard the door open and 2 of our housemates arrived: Frank and Julia from Germany. At that point we promptly got all our crap out of their way so they could come in haha. They had a similar reaction to the house but we let them explore it themselves and went shopping for some essentials (which was also an adventure). Lisa had heard that Asda is kind of like a British equivalent to Walmart so we set off to find it, which took some doing and some more asking for directions from a cute British lady at Starbucks.
COOL BRITISH PHRASE: "Cheers" People end conversations this way. While we were waiting for our bus these two guyfriends were saying goodbye and thanking each other for having such a great summer, and at the end of the conversation they said "cheers" and parted ways. So much happier than goodbye. So affirming. I might adopt it if I can get over feeling like a poser for stealing it.
difficulties of being an American in Cambridge (of which we knew little since we'd honestly only been there a few hours). We hobbled out the door and made the long trek bag, all the while wishing we could've stolen a "trolley" (not cart) and that the milk (semi-skim, not 1%) wouldn't go sour.
