Well here's the dealio. Chris left on Monday and we said goodbye on Sunday and that sucked a lot. Like a whole lot. The idea of not seeing each other for a good 3 months is not a happy thought for either of us, call us crazy. The logical side of me knows that it's really not the end of the world, and I presented myself with these arguments, and I made myself a pretty good case:
1. We're both confident we won't break up (dur) and we'll just miss each other a lot, which is reassuring in a way.
2. Compared to a lot of couples we're very lucky. With people going to war or moving away, a lot of times they don't see each other for years. This really isn't so bad because it's a definite and specific amount of time with a beginning and end date.
3. This is probably the best time period to do this kind of travel during. We have IM, email, video chat, and cell phones so we won't be cut off from each other at all really. Just physically touching each other (don't be a perv just keep reading).
4. (Laura's point) If I was just going to school, we'd probably only see each other every 2 weeks at most and this trip is 9 weeks, so at most we'd see each other about 4 times. So we're only really missing seeing each other 4 times. Go math. Go Laura.
So honestly, there wasn't that much reason for me to be upset when you think about it that way. But seriously, who thinks that way?? haha it's just hard to keep things in perspective so readily.
So now I'm in a kind of weird limbo. Nearly all my friends are at school-the few of us left are holding it down haha Sharon- and Chris is gone so it feels like summer's over, but my fall hasn't started. So I'm in like... sumautumn? Yea it's as weird as that word is.
On the bright side though:
-Chris is loving school so far! Every time I talk to him he just won't shut up about how cool it is. I know at some point it'll hit him and things'll get hard, but I'm really glad it's started off so well, and it makes me feel a whole lot better about life in general.
-I leave for England in... 12 days. Which is quite exciting because now that I've gotten through sending Chris off, I'm ready to be actively doing something (like school) and starting to get more pumped and less hesitant about leaving. It'll still be hard to leave my family, but they're gonna visit me over Thanksgiving and you know, family's like a given so I'm not too worried. Rachel will get upset though and that will be sad :( But we're talking bright side. Focus!
-Plans are starting to come together! Lisa and I got our bus tickets to go from the airport to Cambridge, and the luggage I'm taking is chilling in the living room with my wellies and a few things in it, and my clarinet's all fixed up and purdy.
It's gonna be ok, is basically the point. I had my freak out about being away from Chris, and so I think I've reached my quota for that. I'm learning to figure this out, cope with it, and actually get really excited about it cuz I am.
I'm learning to breathe.

No comments:
Post a Comment